2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2009 11:07 AM by Hariharan Subrahmanyan

How to do reverse accounting (or journal entry?) on a bounced check in SAP?

Amanda Coggin

Hi there-

I am new to our company, new to accounting, and new to SAP. A steep learning curve I have in store for me.

One of customers had their check bounce with us. Now we have a replacement check to deposit.

How do we reverse that original check in SAP? Standard accounting practice, I understand, would be to do a journal entry on that original check. Our SAP consultants fix, they told me, was to go back to the day I deposited that first check, cancel the whole deposit, and then do new Incoming Payments for each check that was deposited that day (and include this replacement check). That seems like a lot of extra work with room for error.

Please let me know what you have done in SAP when this has happened in your business.

Thank you-

Amanda

amanda@davesgourmet.com

• 1. Re: How to do reverse accounting (or journal entry?) on a bounced check in SAP?
          Andee DiCola

Amanda:

What we do is create and outgoing payment to a GL account called "BAD CHECKS" using Bank Transfer payment means since the bank drafts the check out of your account. .

Think about the bad check is a bank generated payment that comes out of your checking account separate  from the initial deposit.

You need to leave the initial deposit alone as it will be on your statement to reconcile in full - not less the bad check.

Then you will see the draft for the bad check. If you replace the bad check with another check to deposit, you would do an incoming payment to the same GL account "BAD CHECKS" that would be deposited again.

If this was a customer account , then you could use a outgoing payment to the customer instead of the "BAD CHECK" GL account.

Just depends how you want to track it.

• 2. Re: How to do reverse accounting (or journal entry?) on a bounced check in SAP?
            Hariharan Subrahmanyan