6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2006 3:58 PM by Daniel Behrendt

SQL query <Long Text> in memo fields

Jim Gillespie

I am trying to write departmental reports in MS Access using the OOPR file in SAP in B1.

I am getting truncated results on some memo / remarks fields. This didn’t make any sense at first because I could open the opportunity and see the results.

I looked into the raw query and only see part of the fields.

I wondered if the odbc query was the problem, so I checked the Enterprise manager and went into the database files directly.

I found the files / fields truncated don’t show in the Enterprise manager, or rather, instead of content, they show as “Long Text”.

I googled Long Text and found this is a common problem, but I don’t know enough about sql to determine what the fix is.

Can anyone provide some insight as to how I can access the entire field?

• 1. SQL query <Long Text> in memo fields
          Kathleen Johnson

I'm not an Access expert, but I seem to recall there being a need to enable LONGTEXT retrieval or something when accessing MSSQL. I'm pretty sure Access is your problem, I just don't know exactly where to fix it.

• 2. SQL query <Long Text> in memo fields
            Daniel Behrendt

In my experience Access likes to change the data types of SQL fields.  What you may want to do is make a base View in SQL to run your queries off of (link to access) rather then going from the table itself and maybe CAST the fields you are using as something different and see if your results in Access change, I have had to do this many times to get what I need.

• 4. SQL query <Long Text> in memo fields
              Jim Gillespie

I can do this from Query Analyzer, and I created a view named frf_OOPRmemo which has the following:
              SELECT OpprId, CAST(Memo AS nvarchar(4000)) AS LongText
              FROM dbo.OOPR